You are here


The Howard Media Group is made up of several faculty members and graduate students who all share the vision of the organization. Current members of the group are listed below.


  • Carolyn Byerly, Ph.D.

    Carolyn M. Byerly holds M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in communications from University of Washington, Seattle; and a B.S. in education from University of Colorado, Boulder.

  • Chuka Onwumechili holds a PhD in communications from Howard University; an MSA from Northwestern University, and a BA in mass communications from the University of Nigeria.

  • Ph.D. in communications from University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.
    MA in communication management from Annenberg School, USC  

  • Clint C. Wilson II, Ed.D.

    BA Journalism and Public Relations, California State University, Los Angeles; MA Journalism and EdD Higher Education Administration, University of Southern California. He is Emeritus Professor of Communication, Culture and Media Studies at Howard University. Dr.

  • Abbas Malek, Ph.D.

    Abbas Malek holds a Ph.D. in International Communication from American University, in Washington, DC, a M.A. in Communication Research and a B.A. in Psychology and Sociology from Tehran University, Iran.


  • Ashla C. Hill Roseboro

    Ashla Hill Roseboro is a Ph.D. student at Howard University in Communication, Culture and Media Studies and is also pursuing a Women’s Studies Certificate.

  • Colin Campbell is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Communication, Culture and Media Studies at Howard University’s School of Communication.  He is also a teaching assistant in Howard’s Principles of Speech program. He holds a B.A.